Big Data

The basis for your digital wealth of knowledge

What is Big Data?

The term ‘big data’ stems from John Mashey, an IT specialist in Silicon Valley. He coined it in the mid-1990s when describing the finiteness of the IT systems available at the time for processing large quantities of data. Today, it refers to the use and processing of very large quantities of complex, unstructured and highly dynamic data. It requires special IT infrastructures and frameworks to process, since classic IT systems aren’t capable of handling the task.

Big data can be generated in a wide range of fields, including in communication, in traffic, or in the financial sector. Industrial big data is a special segment that has evolved from the increasing number of machines and systems equipped with sensors and their networking. It represents the core of our business model and is the starting point for our big data analytics.

Data Science at a glance

Immense quantities
of unstructured data

Internet of Things
as a data source

Evaluation with
big data technologies

Basis for
smart services

Challenges of big data

In order to take advantage of the added value of big data, companies are faced with the challenge of storing and analyzing large quantities of data(volume) generated in a very short time(velocity). Because classic IT systems can no longer handle this volume, new big data-capable solutions need to be implemented in existing IT systems.

Volume

Velocity

Variety

Veracity

Another challenge is that big data generally originates from a number of different sources(variety) and is based on a wide range of data structures. Merging this data, despite its great diversity, represents another special feature when working with big data. Equally important is the ability to analyze the quality or reliability of the data(veracity). Faulty data can distort the results of analyses and thereby diminish the added value that big data can produce.


Objectives of big data

The main objective of the big data concept is to identify previously undetected patterns, structures and correlations in large quantities of data and to utilize them for the benefit of a company. One example of their value added would be the development of new data-driven smart services that improve processes in the company or support the end customers.

Why are we your big data experts?

Our expertise lies in the analysis of industrial big data, the development of smart services and their implementation in your business. In the process, our data scientists will analyze your data using big data technologies and extract relevant information. We will discuss the information with your experts in order to generate profitable use cases. Once these are formulated, our data engineers will develop smart services that have been adapted to your systems and integrate the big data-capable solutions in your IT infrastructure. Working together with you, we are able to take on the challenges of big data and put its benefits into practice.

Data is the world’s great new natural resource. What steam power was to the 18th century, electromagnetism to the 19th and fossil fuels to the 20th… data will be to the 21st.

Source: Virginia M. (Ginni) Rometty, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, IBM

Any questions? We are happy to help.

Katana is your big data analytics expert for Industry 4.0 applications. With the help of the very latest cloud technology and the expertise of our own data scientists and data engineers, we facilitate fast, highly flexible analysis of your industrial data and the operationalization of profit-generating smart services in your company’s system landscape. Contact us and team up with a strong partner to transform your digitalization plans into a reality.

Big Data

Die Basis Ihres digitalen Wissensschatzes

Was ist Big Data?

Der Begriff „Big Data“ stammt aus der Feder von John Mashey, einem IT-Spezialisten aus dem Silicon Valley. Dieser prägte ihn Mitte der 90er Jahre mit Blick auf die Begrenztheit der damaligen IT-Systeme für die Verarbeitung von großen Datenmengen. Heutzutage geht es um den Einsatz und die Verarbeitung von sehr großen Mengen komplexer, unstrukturierter und hochdynamischer Daten. Um diese verarbeiten zu können, werden spezielle IT-Infrastrukturen und Frameworks benötigt, da klassische IT-Systeme den Anforderungen nicht gewachsen sind.

Big Data können in den verschiedensten Bereichen generiert werden, z.B. in der Kommunikation, im Verkehr oder der Finanzindustrie. Ein besonderer Teil betrifft hierbei die Industrial Big Data, bedingt durch eine zunehmende sensorische Ausstattung von Maschinen und Anlagen sowie deren Vernetzung. Sie stellt den Kern unseres Geschäftsmodells dar und ist der Ausgangspunkt unserer Big Data Analytics.

Big Data auf einen Blick

Riesige Mengen
unstrukturierter Daten

Internet of Things
als Datenquelle

Auswertung mit
Big Data-Technologien

Grundlage für
Smart Services

Herausforderungen von Big Data

Um den Mehrwert von Big Data nutzen zu können, sind Unternehmen vor die Herausforderung gestellt, große Datenmengen(Volume), die innerhalb kürzester Zeit generiert werden (Velocity), zu speichern und zu analysieren. Da dies über klassische IT-Systeme nicht mehr möglich ist, müssen neue Big Data-fähige Lösungen in die bestehenden IT-Systeme implementiert werden.

Volume

Velocity

Variety

Veracity

Eine besondere Charakteristik ist es, dass Big Data im Allgemeinen aus einer Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Quellen(Variety) stammen und den unterschiedlichsten Datenstrukturen unterliegen. Diese trotz ihrer hohen Diversität zusammenzuführen, stellt eine weitere Herausforderung dar. Fehlerhafte Daten können die Analyse-Ergebnisse verfälschen und reduzieren somit den Mehrwert, den Big Data schaffen kann. Daher ist es die Bewertung der Qualität bzw. der Vertrauenswürdigkeit der Daten(Veracity) notwendig.


Ziele von Big Data

Das wesentliche Ziel des Big Data-Ansatzes ist es, bis dato nicht entdeckte Muster, Strukturen und Zusammenhänge in großen Datenmengen zufinden und diese für ein Unternehmen nutzbar zu machen. Ein Mehrwert kann beispielsweise darin bestehen, neue datengetriebene Services zu entwickeln, die Prozesse im Unternehmen verbessern oder den End-Kunden unterstützen.

Warum sind wir Ihre Big Data-Experten?

Unsere Expertise liegt im Bereich der Analyse von Industrial Big Data, der Entwicklung von Smart Services sowie deren Implementierung in Ihr Unternehmen. In diesem Prozess analysieren unsere Data Scientisten Ihre Daten mittles Big Data-Technologien und extrahieren relevante Informationen. Diese diskutieren wir mit Ihren Experten, um wirtschaftliche Use Cases zu schaffen. Haben wir dies erreicht, entwickeln unsere Data Engineers, an Ihre Systeme angepasst, die entsprechenden Smart Services und integrieren die Big Data-fähigen Lösungen in Ihre IT-Infrastruktur. Gemeinsam mit Ihnen sind wir in der Lage, die Herausforderungen von Big Data anzunehmen und umzusetzen.

Data is the world’s great new natural resource. What steam power was to the 18th century, electromagnetism to the 19th and fossil fuels to the 20th… data will be to the 21st.

Quelle: Virginia M. (Ginni) Rometty, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, IBM

Haben Sie Fragen? Wir beraten Sie gerne.

Katana ist Ihr Big Data Analytics-Experte für Industrie 4.0-Anwendungen. Mit modernster Cloud-Technologie und der Expertise eigener Data Scientisten und Data Ingenieuren ermöglichen wir eine schnelle und hochflexible Analyse Ihrer industriellen Daten und die Operationalisierung von gewinnbringenden Smart Services in die Systemlandschaft Ihres Unternehmens. Kontaktieren Sie uns und realisieren Sie mit einem starken Partner Ihr Digitalisierungsvorhaben.

 

Datengetriebene Services erfolgreich entwickeln

Leitfaden für Voraussetzungen, Herausforderungen und das richtige Vorgehen bei der Entwicklung maßgeschneiderter Smart Services.

Download White Paper