Smart Data

Using your digital wealth of knowledge

Turning Big Data into Smart Data

Big data involves a vast collection of unstructured data that cannot be processed without the use of new IT technologies and methods. Due to the size and lack of structure of big data, relevant information cannot be immediately gleaned from it; rather, depending on the task to be resolved, it has to be extracted using data science methods and a suitable IT infrastructure.

The share of raw data, and the variables derived from it that are relevant for resolving tasks, are referred to as smart data. This is because they point out properties and correlations that are immediately accessible and usable. The basis for a good result is always the underlying raw data.

Smart Data at a glance

Filter out
correlation from big data

Basis for
smart services

Basis for
product improvements

Central element of
our business model

Benefits of Smart Data

After successful processing of the relevant big data pool, the data can be precisely used for smart services. This approach simplifies data management. The focus is on the relevant data. The entire process of data production and storage is made more efficient. In the best case, only those data sets are generated that actually contribute to the services. In addition to being used for smart services, smart data also plays a role in improving machines and IT systems, since the information it contains can help provide a better understanding of systems and their malfunctioning.

What do we do for you with Smart Data?

We are happy to advise you on the path to your smart data. Our approach can be divided into two main parts. In a first step, we will extract your smart data from your big data; based on the data extracted, we will then work with you to develop smart services and implement them for you.

Big data will win out in the end because it will benefit not only data scientists and technologists, but also users in the business world. And visualization is, without a doubt, one of the keys to this success: This is the opportunity to go beyond showing something to people and explaining a topic and presenting numbers or diagrams to them. It is a way to bring diagrams and graphics to life through visualization.

Quelle: Chris Selland – Vice President Marketing und Business Development HP Vertica

Any questions? We are happy to help.

Katana is your big data analytics expert for Industry 4.0 applications. With the help of the very latest cloud technology and the expertise of our own data scientists and data engineers, we facilitate fast, highly flexible analysis of your industrial data and the operationalization of profit-generating smart services in your company’s system landscape. Contact us and team up with a strong partner to transform your digitalization plans into a reality.

Smart Data

Ihr digitaler Wissensschatz

Von Big Data zu Smart Data

Bei Big Data handelt es sich um eine immense Sammlung unstrukturierter Daten, die ohne den Einsatz neuartiger IT-Technologien und Methoden nicht zu verarbeiten sind. Aufgrund ihrer Unstrukturiertheit und ihrer schieren Größe lassen sich relevante Informationen nicht unmittelbar aus Big Data auslesen, sondern müssen je nach Fragestellung, mittels Data Science-Methoden und einer passenden IT-Infrastruktur extrahiert werden.

Der Anteil an Rohdaten bzw. die daraus abgeleiteten Größen, die für die Beantwortung der Fragen relevant sind, werden als Smart Data bezeichnet, da sie Merkmale und Zusammenhänge aufzeigen, die für den Fragesteller unmittelbar fassbar sind. Die gewünschten Informationen müssen in den Rohdaten enthalten sein, sonst wird man auch mittels cleverster Ansätze keine Smart Data generieren können.

Smart Data auf einen Blick

Zusammenhänge aus
Big Data herausfiltern

Basis für
Smart Services

Basis für
Produktverbesserungen

Zentrales Element
unseres Geschäftsmodells

Nutzen von Smart Data

Nach der erfolgreichen Aufbereitung des eigenen Big Data Pools, können die Daten passgenau für Smart Services verwendet werden. Damit kann das Datenmanagement vereinfacht werden, da der Großteil der irrelevanten Informationen entweder nicht mehr betrachtet oder sogar der gesamte Prozess der Datenherstellung und -haltung effizienter gemacht werden kann. Im Optimalfall werden damit nur diejenigen Datenblöcke generiert, die auch wirklich etwas zu den Services beitragen. Smart Data wird neben der Verwendung für Smart Services auch zur Verbesserung von Maschinen und IT-Systemen genutzt, da man mit Hilfe der darin enthaltenen Informationen, ein besseres Verständnis von Systemen bzw. deren Fehlverhalten erlangen kann.

Was machen wir für Sie mit Smart Data?

Wir bei Katana beraten Sie auf dem Weg zu Ihrer Smart Data. Unser Vorgehen lässt sich prinzipiell in zwei Teile gliedern. In einem ersten Schritt extrahieren wir Smart Data aus Ihrer Big Data um dann im zweiten Schritt Smart Services auf Basis der extrahierten Daten zu entwickeln und für Sie zu implementieren.

Wir beraten sie tatkräftig auf beiden Ebenen, damit die Grundlage Ihres Digitalisierungsvorhabens nutz- und gewinnbringend umgesetzt werden kann.

Lassen Sie sich beraten!

Big Data wird sich letztendlich durchsetzen, weil nicht nur Datenwissenschaftler und Technologen davon profitieren, sondern auch Anwender aus der Geschäftswelt. Und Visualisierung ist unbestritten einer der Schlüssel zu diesem Erfolg: In der Lage zu sein, den Leuten etwas zu zeigen und ihnen nicht nur etwas zu erklären und Zahlen oder Diagramme zu präsentieren, sondern diese Diagramme und Graphen in Visualisierungen zum Leben zu erwecken.

Quelle: Chris Selland – Vice President Marketing und Business Development HP Vertica

Haben Sie Fragen? Wir beraten Sie gerne.

Der Datenanalysebereich Katana der USU-Gruppe verfügt über langjährige Erfahrung in der Anwendung von maschinellen Lernverfahren im industriellen Bereich. Nutzen Sie unser Wissen und unsere Lösungen zur Optimierung Ihrer Produktionsprozesse um Kosten zu senken und Qualität zu steigern.